Are You Ready?

Sometimes I’m too laid back when it comes to emergency preparation.  I think we filled a couple of milk jugs with water on December 31, 1999, and that’s the only disaster preparation I’ve ever done.

Now that I’m older I think it’s about time to take some responsibility.  And the recent news of the possibility of a flu pandemic is just the impetus I need to take action.  I saw a video at work today stating 50M people died during the Influenza Epidemic of 1918, when the population was about 1/4 what it is today.  If we were to have a similar outbreak now, you’re talking a couple hundred million dead folks. 

So here’s my plan:  I’m going shopping tomorrow and will buy the following items:  salt, sugar, jello, batteries, cough drops, bleach, and some extra food.  What I haven’t figured out is water storage.  In looking at a couple of flu preparation manuals online, it was suggested you have 2 gallons of water per person per day for 30 days.  That’s 120 gallons for us.  How do you store that much water?  The other items I’m considering buying are a box of surgical masks and a box of disposable gloves.  Oh, one other thing – I also plan on keeping about $500 in our lock box – in small bills.  The small bills will be the hard part, though.

So, how have you prepared?  Not ready?  Then take a look at this – I think you might find it motivational.

Leave a Reply

