Ingenuity

I’m fascinated by novel ideas.  I like the challenge of solving problems and probably missed my calling in life by not pursuing a career as an industrial engineer or something similar.

I loved this article in the Sunday NYT about  23 student innovations.  If you read this article you’ll learn about a new design for water bottles that can be recycled by filling them with sand and then using them as building blocks to make inexpensive shelter.  Or a purse covered in flexible solar cells that can charge cellphones, iPods, etc.  One idea I never would have thought of is called the Elizabowl (named after the Elizabethan collar) that allows you to store round fruit individually so it will last longer.  Quite ingenious.

There are 20 other bright ideas included in this article and after reading it I couldn’t help but ask ‘why didn’t I think of that?’

Leave a Reply

