Rebate Cheats

I’m always looking for ways to save money, something that’s become more important these days.  Over the weekend I went to Walgreen’s and used two coupons in order to get a free bottle of shampoo.  Not that I need shampoo, but eventually I will and there’s space in the linen closet to store that bottle until I need it.

I read over the weekend in the Denver Post  about how companies often cheat when it comes to honoring rebates.  I’ve often wondered why companies didn’t simply put an item on sale rather than offer coupons and/or rebates.  The answer is that so few people take advantage of either.  With a coupon, your savings is immediate, but with rebatess you must jump through hoops for it.  Apparently nearly 60% of people who qualify for a rebate don’t bother requesting it.  Of the 40% who do, it seems nearly half aren’t honored for a variety of reasons.  I’m not always good about making copies of all the documentation mailed in and remembering when I mailed it so I’d know to do a follow-up if the money weren’t forthcoming.

I don’t buy many things simply because of a rebate, unless it will be free.  If that’s the case, I’m more willing to jump through the hoops to try a new product, when I probably wouldn’t with a $.50 off coupon, even if it were doubled.

In the future, I’ll probably be more careful with rebates.  Does anyone else think it’s worth the trouble?

One Response to “Rebate Cheats”

  1. I tend to take advantage of them if I remember to keep the receipt that is usually required as proof of purchase.

Leave a Reply

