Charity Giving

Over the weekend I received a solicitation call from the League of Conservation Voters.  I never donate money to anyone based on such calls and normally I cut them off early in the spiel.  For some unknown reason, I listened, in its entirety, to this person’s canned pitch.  At the end he asked if I would give at their highest level, or $100. 

I politely said no I couldn’t.  He then proceeded to argue with me, at which point, I said I thought Speaker Pelosi needed to do her job without my donating $100 to the LCV.  You see the main part of his pitch was that they needed money in order to work with congress in getting the billions of tax cuts to oil companies repealed.  That prompted this young man to belittle me by saying I obviously wasn’t listening to what he had said!

Well, the conversation went downhill from there and ultimately I had to tell this guy that arguing with me wasn’t making it more likely that I would open my purse and donate to his cause, etc.

The next day I emailed the LCV and asked to have my name removed from their solicitation list.  I don’t know if this will be successful, but it got me wondering how they got my name, phone number, and mailing address in the first place.  So far this year the only organizations I’ve donated to are the United Way and Obama’s campaign.

Does anyone know if the Obama campaign has sold its donor list?  I will be much less likely to donate to another political candidate in the future if this turns out to be the case.

And for the record, I’ve read several times now that Obama’s campaign has forever changed the way politicians will raise money.  To those pundits who think that, here’s a newsflash: 

I know several people who donated to Obama, myself included, who very likely will NOT donate to many other political candidates in the future.  So I wouldn’t count on raising $500M if I were you.

Just saying….

Leave a Reply

