Happy Halloween

I think Halloween is one of my favorite holidays.  I suppose that is due to it being the one day each year where you can reinvent yourself and act silly.

I grew up in the country so trick-or-treating wasn’t easy.  My folks would drive us around to the neighbors (but you’re talking neighbors who lived a mile away) so we could get a small amount of candy.  One positive aspect was nearly everyone gave us full-sized candy bars because so few kids came to their doors.  My cousins lived in the city and would simply go around the block and fill a gallon sized jug.

When I was about 13 or 14, I went trick-or-treating for the last time with a friend who lived in a subdivision close to town.  We rang the bell at one house and a grumpy old man came to the door.  At this man’s house I received the most memorable treat of a lifetime: a Goldwater for President pencil!  At the time, I wasn’t too thrilled by the gesture, but this memory has stuck with me for many, many years.

I don’t recall any childhood costumes, but as a young woman in my 20s, I dressed up as a black cat for a job I had waitressing at The Denver Athletic Club.  I was voted the winner, but had to decline the prize.  It was a small baggie of drugs!

We can never predict how many trick-or-treaters will come knocking at our door.  Some years we’ve had as few as 5 or 6 and other years we’ve had close to 50.  The older I get, the less I want to have that much candy around the house, so every year I debate whether to buy candy or turn off the lights and hide in the basement.  This year the weather will be warm and mild so kids will be able to wear costumes without coats.  I bought 3 bags of candy today and we’ll answer the door until there are 5 pieces left.

Happy Halloween!

3 Responses to “Happy Halloween”

  1. I never observed Halloween until I was married and had young children. I lived in Texas where the Candy man put poison in one of those straws that usually had Kool-aid and sugar in them. Fortunately he only killed his own child. Wonder if he’s still living, and if he’s still sitting in prison?

    I hope you have a lot of fun. Personally, I’ve never worked up a lot of enthusiasm for Halloween. I lived for 30 years by a man who went all out for Halloween but didn’t like Christmas. To each his own I guess.

  2. My little grandson is six. He’s in Japan with his parents this week so he told me there wouldn’t be Halloween this year. Because he wouldn’t be here it was canceled he said.

  3. It’s 6:20 and so far no one has shown up at the door. I’ll really be disappointed if no one shows this year!

    I don’t dress up any more and we don’t decorate the house. I just enjoy seeing the little ones in their adorable costumes.

Leave a Reply

