Working Stiff

(click on image to enlarge)

It’s been only a week and half since I went back to work, but so far things aren’t quite as bad as the cartoon.  I’m not crazy about getting up at 5:15 in order to beat the traffic, but I like getting home while there’s still daylight.  I’m sure I won’t like the commute in the snow, but…

Here’s what I do like.  I don’t have to work with the public, and that’s a good thing.  I didn’t really realize how much I disliked doing so before.  I think it wasn’t just the public, but also all the others who could make demands on your time and attention.  At this job I can interact with people when I want to, but I can also sit at my desk all day and have little interaction if that’s my mood.

I also like doing the research on a variety of subjects and learning more about the community where I live.  And although my work isn’t the most important thing on the planet, I take pleasure in knowing I’m doing no harm.  I’ve worked for corporate America and never felt good about it.  It was the one thing I liked about being a librarian – I knew deep down that most of what I did made people’s lives better.

Ten years, that’s all I need to do (I hope).  Just ten more years….

One Response to “Working Stiff”

  1. You Have An Awesome Blog Keep Up The Good Work ..Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

