I’m a Voracious Reader Also

There’s an article about the Palins in the People magazine due out on Friday.  You can read the entire pitiful thing at the link.  This was my favorite part:

 Tina Fey plays you sort of bubble-headed. You obviously –
SP
: That’s funny, I play her bubble-headed, too, when I imitate her.

– but you don’t get to be governor without being smart, so how would you describe your smarts?
SP: How would I describe my smarts?

Do you think you’re intellectual?
SP
: Yessss. And you have to be up on not only current events, but you have to understand the foundation of the issues that you’re working on as a governor. I had to do the same thing as a mayor. So it is not just current events but it’s much more in-depth than that to understand how, in the case of me being governor, how did our state get to the position that we are in order for a decision to have to be made. You can’t just go on what is presented you. You have to know the background, you have to know the players involved before you make a policy call. So, um, it’s uh, it’s a good job, it’s a tough job and it’s a very, very serious job. And no. You don’t get to be a governor by being –
TP: – going with the wind.
SP: Yeah definitely. You don’t just go with the flow and take a political pulse on policy. You have to go with what the foundational knowledge is that you have on issues in front of you and you have to put the people you are serving, put them first. You put them before partisanship you put them before special interests. That’s how you make decisions as governor.

How do you get that knowledge?
SP: I’m a voracious reader, always have been. I appreciate a lot of information. I think that comes from growing up in a family of schoolteachers also where reading and seizing educational opportunities was top on my parents’ agenda. That was instilled in me.

Why would Palin admit that she’s an intellectual?  Isn’t that being elitist?  I’d love to see her debate Bill Clinton, Sir Paul Nurse, Lisa Randall, Richard Dawkins, or  William F. Buckley if he were still alive.

I’m still in awe that she thinks she’s an intellectual.  This from a woman who went to how many colleges and isn’t remembered by any of her advisors or professors?

3 Responses to “I’m a Voracious Reader Also”

  1. and a woman whose kids drop out of school before even finishing high school… When she answered that question, she did it without answering it at all… typical

    i read that book when i was young 🙂

  2. One, I find it difficult to believe this woman has a degree in journalism – even if it’s sports journalism.

    Two, her definition of “elitist” is someone who thinks they know better than anyone else. Or so she said in one segment of the Brian Williams interview.

    She didn’t do too well defining “precondition” either!

  3. Yeah, Rain, I hate to admit it but I read this book when I was 18 or 19. I couldn’t remember the name of the book but I remembered the author and did my search that way. It just seems a perfect match!

    dogwalkmusings: I just saw that Brian Williams interview tonight. I’m guessing there are lots of English words she’s heard before but doesn’t quite know the meaning. What an intellectual!!

Leave a Reply

