Palin and Obama in Colorado

Colorado Palin Rally

Colorado Palin Rally

Gov. Palin was in Colorado yesterday giving her prepared stump speech.  She repeated the line about the Bridge to Nowhere, because, I think she thinks it’s the truth.  I think it sounds like George W. Bush and those who over the last 8 years decided they could create their own reality.  I really, really don’t want 4 or 8 more years of this.

I’m going to make a confession.  Until George W. Bush became president, I didn’t believe it made all that much difference who occupied the White House.  One side was just as bad as the other.  It was a game and not all that much changed from year to year.  Or it seemed to me. 

The first presidential election I voted in was 1972 and I, like the great majority of the country, voted for Richard Nixon.  Well, that didn’t turn out too well, did it?  Nixon turned me off to politics and I don’t think I voted again until Bill Clinton ran for president.  And for all his  many faults, I think he did a better job running the country than either Nixon or George W. Bush. 

When Bush ran in 2000 I started paying attention to politics more closely.  I read everything I could find on Bush and decided he would be very bad for the country.  Why?  Because everything he was involved with failed, and failed miserably.  He came across as a phony to me and I had difficulty understanding people who bought into the Karl Rove lies.  I don’t think anyone could have predicted just how bad Bush was going to be for the country.

Fast forward to 2008 and I feel like I’m in a time warp.  It appears that too many people are willing to ignore the past 8 miserable years and give John McCain and untested Sarah Palin a chance at running the country.  A local Denver Post columnist, Susan Greene, went to the Palin rally yesterday in an effort to discover the Palin appeal.  There she found “…a Christian activist who took 15 minutes explaining that God put Palin on John McCain’s ticket ‘to stop the evildoers in the liberal media.'”  This is likely a person who listens to way too much talk radio.

Palin added a new line to her campaign spiel yesterday.

There are some candidates who use change to promote their careers and some candidates who use their careers to promote change.

I’m sure I’m reading it the wrong way.  My view is that McCain/Palin fall into the former category, but I’m willing to bet she sees it otherwise.

Don’t be disheartened.  Obama made 2 stops in Colorado yesterday and has another one this morning.  Palin made just one.  The papers reported this morning that the Palin crowd was roughly 5,000, but Obama drew 5,800 in Grand Junction on the west slope and the paper failed to provide a number for his Pueblo rally.  My guess is that Obama probably drew 10,000 to Pueblo which is a Democratic stronghold in the state.   This morning he is speaking in Golden, where Palin spoke yesterday.  The venue is different, but the Obama campaign gave away all available tickets and had a long waiting list.

Leave a Reply

