Stick A Fork In Me, I’m Done!

This has been a long, miserable 8 years for American politics and I was so looking forward to turning a corner.  Now, it looks like we’re headed for another train wreck regardless who occupies the White House in January.

And I put the blame at the feet of John S. McCain, who has thrown away any semblence of civility or honor to wage a campaign where the ends justify the means.

If he believes that he and Sarah Palin are the best for this country, why don’t they run on their records, accomplishments, beliefs, whatever?  Why sully themselves by rolling around in the mud with those lipstick wearing pigs?

The obvious answer is that they don’t believe it or they feel the voters don’t believe it.  As I said in a previous post, I’ll never understand what people see in Sarah Palin.  But it’s obvious they see something.

So, I’m done.  I’m seriously considering spending my time from now until November 4th reading books and listening to music.  Watching Netflix DVDs and some PBS programming that doesn’t come with a barrage of political advertising.  Maybe an occasional network television show as long as I can reach the mute button for the ads.

My mind is made up.  McCain has shown me he doesn’t have the temperament or judgment to be President.  I can’t admire the way he’s run his campaign or the decisions he’s made along the way.

Tonight I’m going to a reception for Obama at my local campaign office where I will volunteer my time.  I will do whatever they ask of me, so come November 5th I can say I did what I could.  If the country chooses otherwise, I’ll scratch my head, probably cry a few tears, and begin lobbying congress to start relentlessly digging into all the crimes committed over these last 8 years.

One Response to “Stick A Fork In Me, I’m Done!”

  1. Just don’t stop blogging. You’re too good!

Leave a Reply

