Remember? performed by Tom Rush

I hate to admit it, but this certainly applies to me more days than I care to admit!

 

[I’m] looking for my wallet and my car keys–
Well, they can’t have gone too far,
And as soon as I find my glasses
I’m sure I’ll see just where they are.

[I’m] ‘s’posed to meet someone for lunch today
I just can’t remember where
Or who it is that I am meeting …
It’s in my organiser somewhere.

I think I left it on the counter
Or maybe outside in the car. …
Last time I remember driving
Was to that memory enhancement seminar.

What’s that far off distant ringing
In that strangely familiar tone?
Must be the person I am meeting
Calling on my brand new cordless phone

I think I left it under the covers
Or maybe outside on the lawn
I’ve got just one more ring to go
Before my phone machine turns on

“Click”

[spoken]
“Hi, this is Steve and your call means a lot to me.
Please leave a message
and I will try to remember to call you back when I get home.”

“Beeeeeeeeeep”
[Tearfully spoken]
“Steve, this is Bambi,
and I am trying not to cry,
but I’ve been waiting for over an hour!
I thought you loved me! This is goodbye!

[Play a bar or two without singing, then:]
The voice it sounds familiar…
and the name, it rings a bell …
Now let’s see, — where was I?
[Play a bar or two without singing, then:]
Oh, well….

[Brief instrumental break]
I’m looking for my wallet and my car keys–
Well, they can’t have gone too far,
And as soon as I find my glasses
I’m sure I’m …

One Response to “Remember? performed by Tom Rush”

  1. joan p green Says:

    I….LOVED his song!….laughed and laughed and laughed til I cried…..isn’t it the truth! Us ole folks need more songs like this to keep us chipper and looking on the bright side of life…..

Leave a Reply

