Diet Coke Addiction

This is my one vice.  I am addicted to Diet Coke and I hate that I am.

I drink only one per day, but even that bothers me.  I know there are people who drink entire cases daily and that simply can’t be good for your health.

Lately I’ve stopped having it in the house, hoping that would help.  So what do I do?  Ride my bike to a machine at the U-Haul Store where I pay $1 for a bottle of this artificially sweetened, artificially colored bottle of water.  What’s wrong with me?!

Apparently a study was done last year showing that diet soda drinkers have a 48% increased risk of developing what is known as metabolic syndrome.  I also believe it has an adverse effect on your bones and can mess with your HDL, LDL, and triglyceride levels.  So it’s not that I’m unaware of the negative health consequences of drinking this swill.

I find it interesting that there are people who are willing and able to say anything for a paycheck:

The Coca-Cola Company says it sees nothing wrong with drinking lots of Diet Coke.

“Great taste. No calories. Wholesome ingredients. How could you drink too much?” asked Diana Garza, a spokeswoman for Coca-Cola North America.

Apparently I’m not alone in my addiction, since the soft drink industries sell $21 billion worth of diet drinks annually.  Most people think the addiction is due to caffeine, but I’m beginning to think it’s more a combination of the caffeine and the artificial sweetener.  Either way, I need to find a way to quit once and for all.

Leave a Reply

