Who Runs the Media?

For some time now I’ve thought the media was broken, and broken badly.  Last night on the local 10 o’clock news, the Denver NBC station spoke briefly about Joe Biden’s speech and then immediately went to some Republican hack who spent his time slamming everything Democratic. 

This country is so broken I’m beginning to have my doubts about it ever being put back together again.  If, and that’s a big if, John McCain somehow wins this election, I think he’ll serve only one term.  I also think Republicans will lose several seats in the Senate and House so we’d most likely have a veto proof majority in the Senate and life would be very interesting for a President McCain.

With all the fiber in my being, I hope this doesn’t happen.  I am still having trouble with the whole PUMA thing and the amount of vitriol coming from the very angry Hillary supporters.  These folks are apparently livid and nothing the Democratic Party, the Clintons, or Obama does at this point will make a difference for them.  They are mad and are doing everything in their power to sabotage the Obama presidency.  I don’t think they realize that Hillary won’t be able to get elected in 2012 if Obama loses because it will be clear to many people that the Clintons had a hand in the defeat.

It also appears most of the PUMA members are women, and I struggle mightily with their willingness to throw away Roe v. Wade because they feel the Democratic Party turned its back on them.  It feels as though these people are unreachable and unreasonable.  Unfortunately, they remind me of right wingers who are devoid of logic.  <big sigh>

For the record, I thought the best, most stirring speech last night was John Kerry’s.

Leave a Reply

