Neighbors

Just a simple observation.

One of our not-too-close neighbors is a young family of four with another on the way.  Every morning about 8am mom and kids go for a walk.

We live on a cul-du-sac.  As the family walks by the end of our block, Mom and the youngest, about 2 years old, wait at the intersection as the 3 older children run, barefoot mind you, down one side of the cul-du-sac and up the other.

It took a while for me to notice that mom was waiting at the intersection since we live in the middle of the block.  For the life of me I couldn’t figure out where these kids were going or what they were doing.

I certainly hope their financial situation is not the cause for being barefoot but I don’t think I would let my children/grandchildren run around the neighborhood without shoes.  I frequently ride my bike along these streets and see broken glass, litter, dog droppings, etc.

One Response to “Neighbors”

  1. It’s interesting about neighbors isn’t it? My son moved me to Seattle last year and we do have great neighbors, but there are some that I watch now and then, but don’t know. One was an elderly lady who wears a big straw hat and walks very slowly around the neighborhood, up and down both sides of the street, peering at all the houses — the same ones she sees everyday. I finally went out and introduced myself. Her name is Dorothy and she turned out to be a very interesting lady. You never know until you ask.

Leave a Reply

