Bumper Sticker of the Day

 

 

Last week,  Linda at Texas to Oregon, had a post about a recently published article by Peggy Noonan suggesting neither presidential candidate had deep roots in one particular area.

I lived in SE Wisconsin until I was 24 or 25 years old and spent all but 1st grade in the same school system.  Both of my parents grew up in Wisconsin, same for both sets of grandparents.  One would think my Wisconsin roots would run fairly deep.

But they don’t, and I don’t know why.  As a young adult I loathed the Wisconsin winters, and both spring and fall were much too short.  Summers were humid and often hot (we had no a/c) but that didn’t bother me as much.

In the late 70s my husband and I left Wisconsin behind and spent five years in Denver before moving to the SF Bay area.  We spent 9 years there, then 7 in the Missouri Ozarks, another short, 6-month stint in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, before returning to Colorado in 1999.  We’ve been in the same house for nearly 9 years and I’m getting the itch to move.

I don’t know where I’d go, however.  I like the four seasons here, normally winters aren’t too bad, and rarely does it feel bone chilling cold due to an abundance of sunshine and very low humidity.  The summers used to be tolerable since the evenings would cool off nicely.  Weather patterns are changing, though, and we’ve been having summers so hot that the house simply can’t recover over night anymore. 

Linda at Texas to Oregon has me wondering whether Portland would suit me.  I like the progessiveness of the community, it appears to have a terrific public transportation system, and there is an energy about a larger city that is missing from our small city of 60,000.  Maybe I could convince the good folks at Powell’s Books to give me a job!

So I can’t figure out where I’m supposed to be, but I’m hoping this isn’t my last and final stop on the journey.  I’d like to join the Peace Corps or work for an NGO doing good things in other parts of the world.  Or perhaps live a few months in a foreign country teaching English. 

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

Leave a Reply

