Jellyfish Lake in Palau

Fans of the television show, Survivor, will have some knowledge of the island of Palau.  I’m not much of a swimmer, but I’d spend a few bucks to be able to swim with these jellies.

Most jellyfish sting so you try to stay as far away from them as possible.  At some point in history, many, many years ago, Jellyfish Lake was sealed off from the rest of the ocean and the jellyfish found themselves without any predators.  Ergo, no more stings!

I hope the Survivor participants were able to experience this – what a shame to travel nearly half way around the world and not do so.

Check out echeng.com to see more pictures and read about the experience of swimming with the jellies.  I’m jealous.

4 Responses to “Jellyfish Lake in Palau”

  1. Hi – I found your blog because of the reference to Jellyfish Lake. I was there last year and it really was an amazing experience. It was kind of like bumping into nerf balls. Of course we were careful not to hurt them and we just enjoyed seeing this amazing place. Like you, my wife and I had seen the Survivor episode, in fact while we were there they were filming the Survivor Micronesia season. It was also in Palau, but they used the exact same staging area as was used in Survivor Palau.

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. It was a surprise when I realized that I’m in Boulder, you’re in Denver, and we’re connected via Palau. The interenet is an amazing thing! Good luck with all the visitors in town this week for the convention.

  2. Actually we live in Loveland but the distance is about the same. Yes, the Internet makes for a very small world.

    I have to say I’m jealous you got to swim with the jellyfish. It seems like a once in a lifetime opportunity and one that won’t be soon forgotten.

  3. I’ve just come back from my second visit to that magical paradise we call Palau. Jellyfish lake is hands-down the most amazing experience….Check out my blog http://www.visit-palau.blogspot.com, I certainly have enjoyed your blog….way to spread the good news about Palau!

  4. I’m so jealous!

Leave a Reply

