Terrorist Watch Lists

I feel terrible for this couple and am also embarrassed that the United States continues doing this.  Because this man had the misfortune to fall in love with a woman from Pakistan, converted to Islam, and is a pilot by trade, he’s found himself on the same watch list as Teddy Kennedy.

Since 9/11 I suppose such a list has become necessary.  That’s not my gripe.  It’s that the government doesn’t have a mechanism to clear your name.

Once I became aware of these lists, I worried for the first time in my life about being spied on, being harassed, etc. for simply voicing my opinion.  Since GWB took office I’ve written more letters to the editor and to my government representatives than ever before.  I have to assume that blogging also carries a modicum of risk.

I know there isn’t anything I can do to help this man and his family other than voting for individuals I believe will reverse these policies.  In the meantime, I’m just very, very sad.

Leave a Reply

