Saddleback Church “Debate”

I’m late to the table with this post, but I won’t pay for cable so I didn’t see the debate over the weekend.  Since the debate, however, I’ve seen enough clips on the news and Internet to say I cannot understand, for the life of me, why Obama would have agreed to this venue.

Let me start by saying I think Obama is the better of the candidates and he has my vote in November.  I would respect him more, however, had he answered the abortion question, by saying he believes a baby’s rights begin at birth instead of hemming and hawing and saying the decision was above his pay grade.

Here’s the thing:  99.99% of the people sitting in the audience won’t be voting for Obama if they are anti-abortion, regardless of how he answered that question, and whether they agree with Obama on every other issue.  But what of his other supporters who were watching on tv or listening on the radio?

And I have to say I don’t understand how these same people can be so adamantly anti-abortion, but not be as vocal about our invading a country that didn’t attack us and kill innocent civilians, including children.  That, to me, is the height of hypocrisy.

As I type this post I’m listening to several religious analysts on PBS’ The News Hour, discussing how Obama isn’t doing well with the evangelicals and what he has to do to win them over.  Allowing the evangelicals to high jack our politics is one of the greatest problems we face today.  Amen!

Leave a Reply

