Why I Won’t Vote for John McCain

All my life I’ve been registered as an Independent and I try very hard to look at both sides of the viable candidates before deciding how to vote.  When  John McCain was running for president in 2000 I thought he would have been a much better candidate than George W. Bush, the man who had destroyed everything he had touched in his life.  Getting older doesn’t always mean one gets wiser, but I do think I have a certain amount of wisdom when evaluating political candidates.  Here’s why I won’t be voting for John McCain:

  1. He’s a war monger and wants to stay in Iraq too long.  He has been unable to define what success in Iraq looks like, so I’m afraid a vote for McCain would be an extension of the GWB years.
  2. He is widely known to have a very bad temper.  I certainly don’t want someone with a temper to have his finger on the red button.  I want someone who is cool and calm under pressure and knows when and to whom to ask questions.
  3. As a woman, I’m pro-choice.  I’m not pro-abortion and there is a difference.  I think abortion is a terrible choice to have to make but I firmly believe the choice should be between a woman and her doctor, not the government.  I’ve never been in a position to have to make that decision and never will be, but I have nieces and step-granddaughters who might need to make that choice someday.  I don’t believe John McCain supports women’s issues in general, so I would be greatly concerned about his choices for any Supreme Court nominees.
  4. I believe the wealthy and fortunate Americans who have made a living off the backs of the workers should pay more for the privilege, not less.  John McCain and his Republican Party believe otherwise.  I’m strongly opposed to the Bush tax cuts considering they came at a time of war.  Don’t believe the Reagan trickle down nonsense that cutting the taxes of the rich will benefit the community as a whole.  It didn’t work in the 80s and it won’t work now either.
  5. John McCain is likely too old to serve effectively as a president for four years, let alone eight.  If you search on youtube for video clips of him speaking around the country, you’ll discover he has trouble answering questions coherently and succinctly.  He often appears confused and at times needs help from others to answer the questions.  This does not inspire confidence. 
  6. I don’t trust the mainstream media to honestly provide me with the information I need to make an informed decision.  It’s well known that many in the press feel they must protect John McCain from himself.  I say let us see the good, the bad, the ugly, etc. and make our own decisions.  I’m against the filtering on the news because I think it does more harm than good.  If the press won’t be honest with us about McCain’s faults, how do I know I’m voting for the best person for the job?
  7. I thoroughly despise Rovian campaigning tactics and John McCain, in his desperation, has embraced them.  Why would I vote for a candidate who has decided to listen to Karl Rove in order to get elected?  One thing that’s happened to the Republican party in the last several years is that they have become adept at negative campaigning but not so good at actually governing.
  8. John McCain is firmly in the back pockets of the high-powered Washington lobbyists and he has a great number of lobbyists working as a part of his campaign.  I’m truly tired of the special interests running Washington and am looking for someone who will at least make an attempt at rejecting them.  I realize it won’t be easy, but we have to start somewhere.
  9. He finished very near the bottom of his graduating class at the Naval Academy and he actually seems proud of the distinction.  We all know that didn’t work out so well with our current president.  Next time I want someone who is smart for a change!
  10. Finally, I want a president who will begin restoring civil liberties to this country.  It’s difficult for me to understand why a man who was tortured by an enemy isn’t strongly and firmly against what we’ve done in the way of torture.  There is simply no way for me to rationalize that what we’ve been doing isn’t torture.

See here if you need more reasons for not voting for John McCain.

4 Responses to “Why I Won’t Vote for John McCain”

  1. Kirk Muse Says:

    Recently on the internet someone called Senator John McCain, Senator McDoofus. Thus implying that McCain is not very bright. One of the reasons they gave is that McCain graduated from the U. S. Naval Academy at almost the bottom of his class of 899 cadets. Actually, he graduated fifth from the bottom of his class.

    The reason he was such a poor student is not because he lacked intelligence, but rather because he didn’t study very hard. He didn’t have to. His father was a four-star U. S. Navy admiral. No instructor at the Naval Academy is going to flunk the son of a four-star admiral. And McCain knew it.

    Another reason people give for calling McCain Senator McDoofus is that he frequently forgets what he said a few days ago or how he voted on a particular piece of legislation. Perhaps McCain is suffering from pre-senile dementia. Or perhaps he is in the early stages of senile dementia. He is, after all, 72 years old.

    McCain’s father died of a stroke at the age of 70 and his grandfather died of a heart attack at age 68. And John McCain III was a former two pack a day tobacco user. Tobacco use, especially heavy tobacco use, does irreparable damage to the cardio vascular system.

    Perhaps the reason for McCain’s forgetfulness is the heavy stress of a presidential campaign. Of course, there will be very little stress once he is elected President of the United States.

    Another nick name given to McCain is Senator Hothead. It has been reported that Senator Hothead has frequently cursed out his colleagues and
    members of his own staff. Several people witnessed Senator Hothead call his wife Cindy McCain, the “C” word. The “C” word that cannot be said on any licensed television station or radio station without risking the broadcast license of that station.

    Is this the kind of person we want in the White House and with his finger on the trigger of nuclear missiles?

    Speaking of the “C” word, recently McCain suggested that his wife Cindy participate in the Miss Buffalo Chip contest in Sturgis, South Dakota. This contest involves partial and/or full nudity and the contestants demonstrate their sexual skills with bananas or cucumbers.

    Is McCain the “Family Values” presidential candidate? Perhaps McCain should have taken his daughters with him to Sturgis to participate in the Miss Buffalo Chip contest. Perhaps McCain regards all women as just the “C” word.

    Is this the kind of person we want in the White House? Is John McCain the person women and men who respect women, will vote to occupy the White House? Hopefully not.

    John and Cindy McCain own eight personal and private homes. Most of these homes are worth several million dollars each. Yet, John McCain presents himself and a ‘good ole boy’ very similar to the way George W. Bush does. How many of your friends own eight personal and private homes? Probably none. How many of your friends own more than two personal and private homes? Probably none.

    Supporters of John McCain claim that he is a “war hero.” I submit that he is not a hero—just a survivor. A hero is someone who risk their own life to save the life of someone else—not just themselves.

    When John McCain dropped bombs on North Vietnam military targets from 30,000 feet above, was there any collateral damage? Did he kill any innocent civilians? It is very likely that he did.

    Do heroes kill innocent women and children? No.

  2. Kirk Muse: Thx for your additional reasons for not voting for John McCain. I was also aware of McCain calling his wife the “C” word and that he offered her up for entry in the Miss Buffalo Chip contest. I’m also aware that his first wife waited at home for him while he was held prisoner during the Vietnam War. However she was in a car accident while he was gone and her appearance changed dramatically as a result. So the shallow Mr. McCain left his wife (after having an affair with his current wife, Cindy) to marry a younger, beautiful, wealthy beer heiress. The reason why I didn’t originally include these facts in my top 10 reasons list is because I personally think it’s dangerous to vote for a politician based on “family values.” What I value as a family is often very different from what a politician trying to get elected values. So I always discount the family values (including the religious b.s.) when making a voting decision. I am quite dismayed by the commingling of politics and religion and I wish Barack Obama were able to avoid any discussion whatsoever regarding his religious background. Personally I don’t care if he’s an atheist, Buddhist, Muslim, or Christian. I believe there are good and decent people of all persuasions and the framers of the constitution got it right when they stated there should be no religious test for holding public office. I have to lay the blame for this religious hypocrisy at the feet of the Republican Party because they saw this as a way to garner votes and get one of their own elected to the White House. What a disgrace.

    As for John McCain’s military experience, I think he relies much too heavily on his POW status to try and convince the American public that he was some kind of war hero and, thus, worthy of being President by that virture alone. I disagree, as does General Wesley Clark and Phillip Butler, who was at the Naval Academy at the same time as McCain and was also a POW during the same time as McCain. See Butler’s own reasons for not voting for McCain at http://www.military.com/opinion/0,15202,164859_1,00.html. Does anyone else wonder what life long effect being tortured while a POW has had on Senator McCain? I don’t see how he could be considered psychologically healthy having gone through something like that. Here is another excellent article (http://www.vvof.org/mccain_hides.htm) written by Sydney Schanberg, the Pulitzer Prize winning journalist who wrote about the genocide in Cambodia which was later made into the Academy Award winning movie, The Killing Fields.

    So my plea to all is to research and get the facts before deciding how to vote in November. As much as I thought the 2004 election was the most important election in history, this year’s election appears even more so to me.

  3. Kirk Muse Says:

    Yes, I’m aware that John McCain “traded” his first wife Carol
    in for a newer and younger model.

    When women marry for money they are often called “Gold-
    diggers.” What do we call men who do the same? Hopefully not Mr. President.

  4. I was wrong when I said McCain’s grandfather died of a heart
    attack at age 68. He died from a heart attack at age 61.

    Ask you friends go Google: “Songbird-McCain.” or go to
    http://www.VietnamVeteransAgainstJohnMcCain.com
    Scroll down to view the videos.

Leave a Reply

